Ice Idol: Johnny Weir

I love Johnny Weir. He’s hardly the most technically proficient or athletic skater. He’s not a factor in the medal hunt at Vancouver unless the superstars screw up. His off-ice antics often outshadow his on-ice performances. But he always, always puts on a show. And he always, always, always dresses for the occasion.

I’ve read comments here and there that criticize Johnny’s flamboyance and unabashed individuality because “he is representing his (our) country”. Um. Isn’t “I’m me and not you, so there” the hallmark of the United States? I don’t know, I don’t want to get political, but I think Johnny’s pink ribbons are hella American in their refusal to conform and desire to make a statement. Here’s another, his tribute to the Matrix and Avatar, worn at the National Championships:

Not every skater could pull that off (witness the ill-fated attempts of Samuel “The Farmer” Contesti and Kevin “Ice Bones” van der Perren). To steal a line from Will Smith, Johnny makes this look good. And, well, this American is proud to have him representing us (me), arrogance, flamboyance, daring, no chance at a medal, and all. He’s super-fashionable!

I bring you: Furious.

3 Comments on “Ice Idol: Johnny Weir”

  1. Jennifer says:

    I know in the comics he’s another kind of winter Olympian entirely, but Johnny Weir will forever be my mental image of Northstar.

  2. I am so in love with whoever builds this guy’s stuff! It’s gorgeous.
    I have to say that he reads more villian than hero to me though. I think it’s the slightly chaotic looking assymetry of the laces, and the black and metallic color scheme on the other costume

    • Anika says:

      I know, me too. I read somewhere Johnny designs some of it himself and wants to get into fashion design when he retires from skating.

      The villainous asymmetry is a good point, I think the mental image of him as Northstar (see above comment) is what holds me back from declaring him a villain — also that Plushenko wants so badly to be the skating supervillain 🙂


Leave a Reply

