The Bored Game (Oscars V)

So, Sandra Bullock. She won the Oscar! I don’t have a firm opinion on that, I haven’t seen her film. Meryl Streep was brilliant in Julie and Julia but when is Meryl Streep not brilliant? I really like Miss Congeniality. She gave a good acceptance speech. *Shrugs*

But her dress. It’s gotten a lot of attention. She was named Best Dressed by Joan Rivers et al on Fashion Police. Well, here’s my take:

Yawn.

I mean, she looks great. She looks like an Oscar Winner. She kinda looks like an Oscar. And I love her hair and make-up. But it doesn’t make me stop and stare. This is by far the best picture of the dress I’ve seen and I don’t really have much to say about it at all. So. I won’t!

Here’s Meryl. She was on FP’s Best Dressed list, too. I don’t disagree, she looks pretty amazing. I think my favourite part of this look is that it is designed by Chris March. Project Runway‘s Chris March. AWESOME.

Sigh, Sigourney. It’s not tragic but it’s certainly not magic. The whateveritis at the shoulder is awful, just rip that off. The bow at the waist is … let’s rip that off, too. I get wanting to have a waist (Sarah Jessica’s is missing after all) but then why wear a Greek style? There’s too much going on here and yet it looks simple. Not classic and elegant. Kind of like someone took the sheets off the bed, cinched it with a ribbon and threw on an applique from the craft store. That’s a bit harsh but she’s a beautiful woman and here she looks like someone put a skirt on a Greek column. Especially with the red-on-red-carpet.

Speaking of.

Penelope Cruz … More yawn! It’s not awful. She’s lovely. I just don’t care about this look.

I like to at least care.

And this is possibly my biggest disappointment. Julianne Moore is a goddess and this is the most boring thing I’ve ever seen at the Academy Awards. I bet none of you even remember it.

One Comment on “The Bored Game (Oscars V)”

  1. […] (Oscars VII) Jump to Comments So Rachel wears my crown, Sandra bores me, Zoe and Carey win my heart, Miley and NPH should do a super-duet, RDJ is my hero and […]


Leave a Reply

