Couples! (Tony Awards III)

I can’t decide if this picture is supposed to say “Look! Tom Cruise isn’t the shortest man in Hollywood” or “Well, Emma Watson isn’t THAT tall”:

But it must be the Tony people are having a laugh. Katie’s dress looks a size too small and Danny’s suit a size too big, it can’t NOT be on purpose, right? But you know, now I really want to see the amazingly mismatched Danny and Katie Variety Show. Don’t you?

Let’s look at a few Matched Couples:

Helen Mirren and Taylor Hackford. I swear she gets more gorgeous every time she shows up. Talk about aging gracefully.

Michael Douglas and Catherine Zeta-Jones. I actually really like CZJ’s Versace and these two always come off stately somehow.

Antonio Banderas and Melanie Griffith. Well, honestly, I think Catherine looks better than Mel and Antonio looks better than Michael, so this just makes me want a Zorro reunion. Only, not really. Anyway, I don’t dig the tattoo but if it works for them, more power to you, Mel G.

Kelsey Grammer and Camille Grammer working red. The dress shortens her, I’d cut off a bit of the excess, especially for a red carpet appearance (sigh) but it is a lovely colour.

Will Smith and Jada Pinkett-Smith. This is too much red dress, too, despite being a micro-mini. Girl’s got legs and I’m fine with showing them off but this would be such a nicer dress without the bunchy bunchy frou frou ruffles.

My favourite couple of the night, Naomi Watts and Liev Schreiber. Naomi’s Roland Mouret dress might’ve gotten Superheroine of the night it has so many little details. Liev’s bowtie is crooked AGAIN but I’ll forgive him because they are so beautiful together.

Finally, Liev’s award-winning co-star, Scarlett Johansson and her husband, Ryan Reynolds:

I guess Scarjo is using her invisibility cloak. But he was there! And she thanked him in her acceptance speech! Oh and she was wearing green! Like Green Lantern!

Well, more like Poison Ivy but STILL.



Leave a Reply

