Incredible Casting

There’s been a lot of speculation about who should take on the role of Bruce Banner/The Hulk for The Avengers now that Edward Norton is out. It is no secret that I don’t like The Incredible Hulk. “Hulk Smash” stuff bores me to tears and the tragedy side gets tired — especially when Bruce Banner is seen as one of the smartest people in the Marvel Universe and he can’t solve the ONE problem he has been working on for as long as we have known him. I like Edward Norton, I thought he did a good job with a character I really have to force myself to care about. I’ve been thinking on it, is there ANYONE who I would be excited to watch as Bruce Banner? Joshua Jackson or Leonardo DiCaprio? Not really, either’d be miscast. Sam Rockwell? Maybe, but they wouldn’t recast him. Well. Probably. Anyway, the answer is probably not. So, I will put forth the most ridiculous and yet brilliant suggestion:

Look, if anyone in Hollywood can make Bruce Banner my most favourite character, it’s Helen Mirren. The woman is magic (speaking of, this is from The Sorcerer’s Apprentice premier which I am choosing to take as suggestion she’ll be back for National Treasure 3) (and, hey, she’s almost wearing Diana’s new jacket). I would be first in line to watch Helen Hulk out.

I suppose I can settle for this. I cannot properly describe my reaction to the preview for this movie. Helen Mirren and a machine gun. I mean seriously, the whole rest of it (cast includes Morgan Freeman, John Malkovich and Bruce Willis and it’s based on a Warren Ellis comic) was like ‘Whatever.’

Helen Mirren. Best Hulk ever.

Leave a Reply

