Cosplay Project: Expect the Unexpected!

Hey, remember when I was going to dress as Black Window for NYCC and write up the cosplay process? You probably thought I‘d forgotten. But no, it was just on the back burner and when I got back to it, it’d evolved. Like a Pokemon. I will no longer be dressing as Black Widow for NYCC (and Halloween). I will be dressing as:

Kimber Benton of Jem and the Holograms.

I had a fitting yesterday and I saw my wig being dyed a couple hours ago. It might seem down to the wire, but that’s normal for cosplay, costumes, fashion, theater, etc. The arts keep you on your toes! Expect the unexpected.

Jem is having a resurgence of popularity thanks to the Hub and Hasbro is having a to-do at this weekend’s New York Comic Con. Cosplaying Kimber is something of a dream come true for me, I wanted to BE HER when the show was on the first go round. And not just in the cosplay way, I wanted to BE HER. I kinda still do.

The above outfit is Kimber’s most iconic (of some 50 billion as cataloged lovingly here at Jem’s Cartoon Wardrobe). Eighties fashions are having a comeback currently (sigh) so I was able to find the slacks at Justice (whose name is way cooler than its clothes) and a jacket to modify. The blouse is being made and we selected a blonde Farrah Fawcett wig to dye Kimber Pink (so I can keep my Black Widow Red hair). I cannot wait to show off the finished product.

I will be at New York Comic Con on Sunday, October 16, 2011. I won’t have any other Holograms with me, but I will have two MISFITS. If you see us, please say hi! I’ll give you a sticker.

Leave a Reply

