Superheroes at the MTV Movie Awards: Emma Stone and Andrew Garfield

I can’t with these two.

Recently I was in an airport, waiting to board, and wearing a t-shirt that mimics Spider-Man’s costume. The shirt got a lot of compliments from both friends and strangers and this one chatty (or bored) passenger also waiting to board asked “Why Spider-Man?”. I’m not very good at small talk and the question caught me off-guard so I didn’t have a clever answer; all I could do was tell the truth.

“Because he’s a little guy who does the right thing because it’s the right thing,” I explained. “I really believe in his ‘with great power comes great responsibility schtick’ and it’s my opinion that we all have great power so we all have the responsibility to do good in the world.”

Chatty Guy was somewhat taken aback by this. I’m sure he expected a less earnest and more ‘Spider-powers are cool’ answer. But his follow up was “So…we should all wear Spider-Man shirts?” so I think he appreciated it. We moved on to discussing Captain America ice cream and the stereotype (that I was totally willing to play along with) that over-earnest superfans like myself must be geniuses.

All of which is to say: I have a lot of feelings for and about Spider-Man. And these two…

Can we start the MMA 2013 Best Kiss campaign right now? I realize the movie isn’t out yet but…

SERIOUSLY. Plus, legacy:

This kiss won in 2003.

In terms of fashion, the structure of Emma’s dress tips heroine chic, but only just. Andrew absolutely pulls off Peter Parker in that tie.

They pulled off a lot last night. They played with the overblown entrance, they got through their silly awards show banter, they were rather darling amidst the hoopla. But mostly:

I know that when you’re a teenager — sometimes when you’re an adult — what sets you apart can sometimes feel like a burden and it’s not. And a lot of the time, it’s what makes you great.

Emma Stone was wearing a Spider-Man t-shirt last night. She was earnest and she was powerful.

And we love her for it.



Leave a Reply

